January of 2012 I resumed training, not fully healed but better than before. My father [Orin Josiah] would join me on several training sessions as he too resumed his training and had already began competing.

orin ATHLETE (3)

I was eager to get in shape for the overseas trip in March of the same year, once I qualified at the

oein sprintcollege annual athletics championship. I battled through my preparation for the championship and made the team for the 800m, 1500m & 5000m races.

A team of six [6] including two team managers flew to Castries, St Lucia in March where the athletes competed. I earned gold at all three events and an additional gold in the open 4 x 100m OECS team relay. That trip made a college record [not highly recognized as it should] – since I was the first person to achieve three [3] gold medals in three [3] individual events.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

 I competed in my first local road race during February of 2012. It was the annual Holetown Festival 7km, placing 9th overall – I was definitely looking forward to do more road races. As the year continued I partake is several events, mostly road races along with my father.

My performance began to look promising so I took more interest in the sport, getting more connected with the local running community. Invested approximately $250US in a GPS [Garmin310xt] to enhance and accompany me on my training sessions. Yes, my training was decided by me after doing researches and other enquires.

As my training progresses, I sustained the same injury but to the left leg this time. Once again I was decommissioned, but I made good of this time by preparing mentally for my events and spectating races to see how it appears from the outside. You may be surprise of how much you can learn from watching your competitors’ race.

Later that year I was back racing and adding some race mileage to my legs. I registered and completed the 2012 Run Barbados Gold Challenge [1.6km, 10km & 21.1km during an approximate 35 hours period]. It was a good learning experience, painful from day two [2] but I made it to the end of day three [3]. Earned six [6] medals.garmin 310xt

