Start  Line
Start Line

 Here is another 5km experience to add to my overall racing experience.

The annual ICBL Family Fun Run and Walk, started on Tuesday, 28th April 2015 to raise funds for several entities including the public hospital (QEH).

As a norm I find it difficult to have a full night’s rest before the race, so by 4:30 am I was up for the fourth time in that one night. I began to prepare for the day and race, by firstly – giving God thanks for yet another day. I headed for the race start walking because it was only 2km from my home. On my way I meet a team member (David Yearwood), we then joined the other team members for a warm up session.

Now the meat of the post *laughing*.

I got on the start line surrounded by a few hundred persons,some of the faces I recognized to be local record holders, Carifta Games medalist and also my running coach [ex Olympian]. Immediately I decided that I had to get out fast from the crowd to avoid any collision.

On the fire of the gun, I was the first to meet the 100m mark, then I slowed a bit to form the front pack. Had a few minor contact when the others as they joined and formed a pack of about 11-20 persons. I sat in the middle as we climb the first incline, approaching the 1.3km mark a few team members made another break away but I made a mistake by not going with them.

I paid for this a few minutes later, I was trailing in 6th place, running through a few inclines and declines – I made efforts and caught a few. By then two of my team members (Joshua Hunte & Raheem Skinner – eventual 1st & 2nd placers respectively) managed to open the gap by a few more seconds. I worked along with another team member [Pius Emilien] over the next 1.5km (approximately) to hold my 3rd position and remain ahead of the chasing packs.

Soon after I made my break and tried to gain on 2nd place. As I pushed a stitch developed so I had to slow down and control my breathing to ease the stitch before picking up the pace again. Unfortunately, the stitch remained so I ran with it at a controllable pace until the end.

I was the 3rd person to cross the finish line in 17:21 behind my team mates [Joshua Hunte 1st in 16:28 & Raheem Skinner 2nd in 16:34(pb)]. Unfortunately, they were not eligible to contest for the prize due to registration issues. As such I got 1st place by default – making it my second year to have this privilege [Not proud of the way I won but I do accept]. I am sorry to know that those guys worked so hard but did not get what they deserved.

I am not totally satisfied with my timing but it is acceptable for the present circumstances. Which are; I made a bad call in the race, and two days before the race I had a cycle accident and sustained bruises & a bit of swelling to my left knee.

Finish Line 1
Finish Line 1

ICBL 5KM 2015

Screenshots of race details from my Garmin 310xt

ICBL 5KM 2015-STATS
Elevation, Pace & Heart Rate
Split per km
Split per km
Race Stats
Race Stats

ICBL 5KM 2015

